PAUL JOHN # 1906 (single cask )

Over the last few months I have had the pleasure of sampling some great whisky/whiskey from around the world, one distillery from outside the Scottish empire that is really starting to impress me is Paul John, the Indian whisky that is fast making a name for itself.. The distillery can be found in Goa and is now releasing some impressive single malts and now single cask expressions.. One of my favourites from the distillery has been the ” classic select cask ” so this next step has me intrigued.  I love my single cask releases, they give us a great insight into the distillery and the  wood choices, we get more of a picture of what they are capable of producing, there is no where to hide when you release a single cask and even better this is cask strength..

image

So this single cask offering is from cask #1906 and is bottled at 59.5%abv and is around 6 years of age..

Nose.. Sweet.. Ripe banana soaked with honey and vanilla ice cream, caramel, toffee and barley sugar sweets, orange peel  and fresh blossom..

Palate.. Whoa .. Totally different to the nose.. This is more oaky with a natural sweetness, vanilla, ginger with  some burnt sugars are the prominent flavour with hints of peach. After a while a more subtle orange chocolate note floats in along with delicate malty notes.

Finish.. Long and lingering wood spice..

Thoughts.. This was very different to what I expected and that really is a good thing, this cask shows how diverse the distillery can be. This is not the big spicy beast I expected it to be, it is more complex and more diverse.. This takes you on a different adventure to the core range, kind of like going from India into the Rocky Mountains on a camping trip..  It’s raw but in a great way, natural but in a complex way, I know that don’t make sense but neither does this.. It’s uniquely fabulous..

A big thank you must  go to Shilton from Paul John and Craig from https://craigleewatson.wordpress.com   for both giving me a sample.. Slainte..

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Patrick says:

    Having just tried some Paul John whisky I was intrigued to try find some information on the single casks, and having read your reviews I think I will go ahead and buy one. Thank you for the reviews.

    Like

  2. kelly says:

    I managed to get a bottle after reading your review and I have to tell you I am so happy I did. Thank you.

    Like

  3. sorrenkrebs says:

    Hi ed. Firstly no I am not connected to the distillery and yes it is that good !!

    Like

  4. Ed says:

    Whatever next ? Is this Indian whisky really any good ? I see you quite like it or are you connected to the distillery ? Thank you.

    Like

  5. Charity says:

    I just bought one of these and it is fantastic. Thanks for your notes, I am glad I agreed

    Like

  6. Hugo smith says:

    Another good whisky coming out of India. Bravo.

    Like

  7. Flo says:

    Looking to get a few of these single casks, I’m getting into this whisky since reading your blog.
    I have recently started my own web site, the info you provide on this site has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time and work.

    Like

  8. Jerome says:

    Paul John whisky is great stuff. I have bought a few bottles and do I tend to buy more.

    Like

  9. sorrenkrebs says:

    Carl..
    It was my pleasure 👍

    Like

  10. Carl G says:

    Sounds like it is worth a punt. Thanks for reviewing this.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. sorrenkrebs says:

    You Won’t be dissapointed..

    Like

  12. Bill says:

    Not seen any of the single cask bottles but I love the Edited and Bold. Will be looking out for a single barrel bottle. Thank for the review

    Liked by 1 person

  13. The single casks are truly exceptional..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

