Ocdwhisky awards..

The awards season looks like it is upon us,  so I decided to have a little fun myself.  We all love to hate Jim Murray and his whisky bible, but we all want to know what he has chosen just so we can disagree with him, then we get the Malt Maniacs awards, again we all look forward to seeing what they award top billing to, most of us will not get a chance to sample the delights the above get to try but we all still have our favourites.  So I have decided to have my fun and name my top malts of 2015.. For this first time I have decided to include any whisky I have tried, so this will be more open than future years( I hope I’m still here next year) I will also award top honours to my favourite single barrel expression, favourite everyday expression and favourite online shop.. So here goes..

 

TOP AWARD GOES TO..

Balvenie 41yo, cask no 78803, second fill bourbon barrel, bottled at 48.3%..

Second place..

Auchentoshan 1979, 32yo, first fill sherry casks.. Bottled at 50.5%.

Third place..

Laphroaig 32yo, oloroso casks, bottled at 46.6%.

BEST SINGLE BARREL..

Balvenie 41yo, cask 78803, second fill bourbon barrel, bottled at 48.3%..

Second place..

Tomatin 1990, 1st fill American oak, bottled at 54.4%.

Third place..

Balvenie 14yo, first fill sherry butt, cask no 11270, bottled at 61.7%.

BEST BLEND..

Compass box ” this is not a luxury whisky” bottled at 53.1%..

Second place..

Grants Rare cask reserve 25yo, bottled at 47%..

Third place..

The lakes distillery ” the one” bottled at 40%..

BEST EVERYDAY EXPRESSION..

Glendronach 15,  oloroso casks, bottled at 46%..

Second place..

Glenfarclas 15yo, sherry casks, bottled at 46%.

Third place..

Glenfiddich 15 Distillery edition, bourbon and sherry casks, bottled at 51%.

Aberlour Abunadh,  oloroso sherry butts, cask strength.

BEST ONLINE SHOP..

This one was a hard decision to make.

Drambusters

Second place..

The whisky Exchange.

Master of Malt.

Please note.. This is only my opinion and is not to be taken as gospel.. It is only supposed to be a bit of fun..

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Idrinkwhisky says:

    The Laphroaig 32 is a stunner. That Balvenie must be some whisky.

    Like

  2. sorrenkrebs says:

    Christopher..I’m sorry if your not happy that I chose bottles that you won’t get to try, please realise this is only my opinion, I was lucky enough to try these and then give you my opinion is as good as I can do to give you an idea of these malts. I did put the everyday category in for the purpose of putting malts available to almost everyone in the awards..

    Like

  3. Christopher says:

    Sorren.
    I am sure you realise that most of us will never get to taste the whiskies you chose for your awards. I would like to see a set of awards that are from whiskies that most of us might get to drink.

    Like

  4. sorrenkrebs says:

    Hi Nick, it is indeed the revival, well known to be older whisky at the moment, unfortunately getting harder to find until they release the new stocks.. The Auchentoshan 1979 is rather stunning, it was actually my whisky of the year last year and almost got it again, the Balvenie was stunning though and not like any Balvenie I have had before.. On a lucky note I have 2 bottles of the toshan still sealed.. Happy days..

    Like

  5. I’m a little jealous you got to try it to be honest – it sounds amazing! I’m a huge Auchentoshan fan too, so the runner up sounds excellent also. Is your every day winner the ‘Revival’ bottle? If so I’m rather excited as I have an unopened bottle sitting on my shelf ready for an excuse to be opened…
    Keep on waffling,
    Nick

    Liked by 1 person

  6. sorrenkrebs says:

    Nick.. I would love to think I had that power.. But my friend I’m sure you know it was unfortunately only available at the distillery.. Maybe I should have pointed that out.. But thank you for the reply..

    Like

  7. Immediately after you posted this article my local bottle shop completely sold out of Balvenie 41yo, cask no 78803!!! I’ll call it the OCDWhisky-effect!
    Keep on waffling,
    Nick

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Stephen T says:

    Thank you for sharing your opinions, I have not tasted your top 3 malts. I love the Glendronach and Glenfarclas. I have heard a lot about Compass box so I must try to get the one you mentioned. Like the blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

