Tomatin 1990 single barrel.

image

Another offering from the bottle your own range from the highland distillery Tomatin. This time I have a 1990 1st fill American oak cask, bottled at 54.4% .  This was filled 24-9-1990 and bottled 25-9-15 so 25yo and happy birthday to it..

Nose..  Straight away there are sweet vanilla notes, toffee, fudge and butterscotch, it is a full on candy store.. Candied fruits, pear drops and Demerara sugar.  There is a faint spicy note that tries to muscle out the sweetness, possibly ginger, cinnamon  and a little oak.  I really do like the nose on this..

Palate.. Again it is sweet, lovely vanilla notes, rich fudge and treacle, some heather honey notes, some lovely fruit notes from pears and oranges, then there is a lovely oaky kick, a little nutty flavour flows over the tongue. Very enjoyable.

Finish.. It has a very subtle but long finish, long sweet notes tickle the tongue with a gentle spiced oak  note that lasts for quite some time.

IMG_1876

Thoughts.. This is a very enjoyable dram with lovely sweet notes that just keep coming, it is not overly sweet but it really has taken a lot of natural flavours from the wood and delivers complex notes in every sip.. It’s fair to say Tomatin was not a distillery I have taken a lot of notice off, but if this is the standard of whisky they produce then I am hooked.. Where is the bank card, I want more of this..

IMG_1904

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Jona says:

    Wow! At last I got a blog from where I be capable of in fact get useful
    information concerning my study and knowledge.

    Like

  2. Jimmy says:

    Read your review before I visited the distillery last year and decided to buy the bottle, I opened it the other night and I had to tell you that I think your spot on with your notes. Thank you for making my mind up for me.

    Like

  3. Paul Thomas says:

    I have a bottle of this, it is a fantastic single malt. Good review.

    Like

  4. sorrenkrebs says:

    Thanks Ben, this is a new distillery to me and is well worth trying, I am looking forward to trying lots more

    Like

  5. Ben Oakley says:

    I’m yet to try a Tomatin, let alone a cask strength whisky but the tasting notes for both of these make it sound very appealing. I’ll have to take a look at these and their other offerings and see if some will go on ‘the list’. Nice reviews.

    Like

Leave a Reply

